Tuesday, October 19, 2010

How Scientist Classify the Animal Kingdom

Scientist classify the animal kingdom into categories according to their characteristics. There are to main groups which are vertebrates and invertebrates.

Vertebrates all have backbones. There are groups in the vertebrates like birds, reptiles, fish, amphibians and mammals. The humans are part of the mammals. They also have hair, they are young inside their mother, they suckle milk and they are warm-blooded.

Invertebrates are animals with NO backbone which make up 97% of the animal kingdom. They are comprised of seven groups. One of the groups are Arthropods. They have an exoskeleton, a segmented body and jointed legs. Another group is Molluscs which are soft bodied invertebrates. They are snails and slugs. The last group is the annelida which are just worms.

1 comment:

  1. Hi crusader

    Very good informmation on how the scientists classify the animal kingdom. I never new Molluscs ( actully I just forgot).

    Good work and keep it up


Tell me what you think.

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.